Could You Fall In Brit Love?

Hot, contemporary romances with a distinctly British flavour. Gorgeous heroes, beautiful heroines and iconic locations.

Thursday, 27 December 2012

Happy New Year

It's cold and wet in London.   It's been impossible to go outside without an umbrella for days but I braved the elements today and strolled alongside the Thames to walk off some of the Christmas pounds.   After being shut indoors since Christmas Eve, the cold and fresh air felt good.

2012 has been such an exciting year for many reasons.   Firstly, Lovers in Law and Love Notes were released on Amazon and began to sell steadily.   Then they began getting some fabulous reviews which made all the hard work worthwhile.  

They're uniquely British - with authentic British settings and dialogue - so it seemed appropriate to release them in the year London threw the world's greatest party.   A royal wedding, the Diamond Jubilee, Olympic and Paralympic games.   The whole world came to visit and went away smiling.   I've always been proud to be British but it's been fabulous showing off everything we have to offer - and we put on quite a show!

So, we're now hurtling towards 2013 where there's so much to look forward to, including the prospect of a  new royal baby.   But, in the meantime, we have to think ourselves lucky that it's still cold outside.   It gives us the perfect excuse to throw another log on the fire, switch on the Kindle and warm up the atmosphere with some hot fiction.  Why not bring a blush to your cheeks by downloading Lovers in Law or Love Notes, both guaranteed to get you hot under the collar?!!

So may I wish everyone all the best for 2013.   I hope you keep all of your resolutions, achieve everything you set out to do, have lots of lovely surprises and get everything you deserve in the coming year.

Here's to a romance-filled 2013 with lots of love from Avis xx


Thursday, 8 November 2012

Guest blogging again




So happy to be featured on Kd Grace’s blog today, telling the story behind how Love Notes and Lovers In Law came to publication.   Pop over there now for all the details and a snippet from Love Notes in which things are definitely starting to heat up between Aiden and Erika.
Thanks so much for having me, Kd xx

Monday, 15 October 2012

Funnily Enough - from Victoria Blisse


I'm delighted to be hosting the fabulous Victoria Blisse today - my very first guest blogger.  And make sure you don't miss out on the competition at the end to win a copy of Fulfill Me.

Hello all, 
I’m Victoria Blisse and I love to write romance, Rosy, Raunchy Romance. What does that mean? Well, My stories have happy endings and the steamy scenes are very explicit and detailed. I also aim to create very real characters. I’ve got a few different tricks up my sleeves for doing this, the one I will focus on today is humour.  

Life is funny, well, mine is and people tell jokes, make quips and use sarcasm on a daily basis so my characters also do this. Caitlyn in Fulfill Me is particularly sarcastic, I think she uses it as a barrier to protect herself from getting hurt. Before I introduce you more to Caitlyn, here’s the blurb for Fulfill Me.

Caitlyn is out to get what she wants and she desperately wants Nick Casey, Star of Dobsons Digs the biggest soap on TV. She will do anything to get into his life but one thing, one person always stops her. His annoying yet handsome PA Mike. 

But there is more to Nick and to Mike than she could ever have first imagined. She ends up on a journey from one side of BDSM to the complete opposite and all the time she’s just looking for the man who can make her whole.

Caitlyn knows what she wants and goes about getting it. She essentially stalks Nick Casey, the celebrity object of her lust and tracks him down. Now, I couldn’t resist playing about a bit with my ice queen main character (she’s not untouchable as she’d like you to think!) and I was particularly cruel when it came to her meetings with Nick.

Her first attempt at contact is foiled in quite a spectacularly hilarious kind of way and I’m going to share that with you today. Caitlyn has wheedled her way into a posh Italian restaurant at a time she knows Nick will be there  and he does turn up for lunch with his PA and his mother. That is as far as the plan gets her before things go seriously skewwhiff.

For the moment I can’t hear the conversation from Nick’s table because Tony is talking excitedly to the tall fellow in front. It sounds like they’re both speaking Italian, no wonder Tony is bellowing. If I want to speak to Nick, ideally, I need to make my move now; if I play it right I might get an invite to their table. I’m good with mums – well, those other than my own, anyway.
I’ll walk over towards the ladies, which happily is across the other side of the terracotta walled restaurant, so I can wander past his table and then what? I think and take another bite of the tomato covered pasta. Oh, I know - I’ll stumble. I’m sure his chivalrous nature will make him leap to my aid.
My plan of action decided, I try to stand, but find my way blocked by Tony, still gesticulating and talking wildly.
“Excuse me Tony.” I try to squeeze past him but I’m too afraid of being hit with a flailing elbow to really push forward.
“Tony!” I bark a bit louder, and he looks at me. “Excuse me.”
 He nods, and moves away from beside the seated beanpole who pushes his chair back. He knocks the leg into my ankle, and shakes me off balance. I fall unceremoniously to my knees.
“Oh, I’m so very sorry,” a voice babbles above me, “I’m terribly sorry, here, let me help you.” A thin, soft hand grabs around the top of my arm and pulls. I sit back on my heels and fix the bumbling buffoon with all my frustrated anger.
“I can stand up on my own, thank you.” I growl, noting the high red on his cheeks, the softness in his dark eyes.
“I’m sorry,” he continues to grip the top of my arm, and I try to shake out of his grasp. He lets go and I totter to my feet.
OUCH!
As I rise, my head connects with a serving tray then a pool of thick, tomato based soup slips down my arm and over my dress.
“Blood Hell!” I cry, stamping my foot in exasperation. Joey, who was holding the tray, is dabbing at me with a tea towel and the horrid man who tripped me is fussing around and making things worse.
“What‘s going on Mike?” Nick’s well known voice breaks into the madness.
 “This poor young lady has had a little accident.” Mike coughs. “I think I‘m to blame actually.”
“Wasn‘t that my soup?” the reedy tones of Nick‘s mother rise through the barrier of bodies to my ears.
“I think you spilled my mum’s soup.” Nick says icily to Joey, the waiter, and soon Tony is here, fussing, flapping and apologising. Nick didn’t once look towards me, I mean who can blame him? I must look a fright covered in bright red soup. I slip between Tony and his son and head for the door and the sanctuary of my car, all the time cursing that rake of a man, Mike. If it wasn’t for him, I’d be with the man of my dreams right now. 

Ending up with soup all over her isn’t the only surprise Caitlyn receives in Fulfill Me. Pick up your copy from:


especially if you like your romance, hot, hot, hot! 

Thanks for hosting me here today, Avis and thanks for reading, all you lovely readers! I’m going to give away a copy of Fulfill me to one lucky person who leaves a comment on this blog within the next seven days.. Let me know if you like humour with your romance and I will pick a comment at random after 22nd October to win a copy of my novel! 

Saturday, 13 October 2012

New Blog Interview


If you want to know all about my characters and writing - along with a few secrets - I’m being interviewed on author A B McKinley’s blog, Kilted Desire

Saturday, 6 October 2012

The real pirates don't look like Johnny Depp

I'm sad to say my books have been pirated.  Someone posted a reward, asking for a copies and, within a day, they'd been copied and linked to on a download site.

Piracy's a huge business and it's the pirates, not the authors who make money from it.  I'm proud of my books and think I've produced two high quality, highly readable novels that readers have so far enjoyed.  It's just sad that someone thinks they have a right to reproduce and circulate them without my permission and without me deriving any benefit.  The same goes for any original work that's taken - whether it's music, images or the written word.  Unless you're paying the creator, someone's getting rich when they don't deserve to

I'm being very zen about it and consoling myself with the idea that pirates only bother to copy the really good books. But it doesn't hurt to remind everyone that self published authors will usually only make themselves available on large, trusted sites like Amazon and Smashwords. If you're about to download a book for free, quickly Google it to see whether it is, in reality, a paid product that someone's stolen.   It wouldn't hurt to drop the author an email to alert them too.   Getting something for nothing is often irresistible but if authors aren't paid to work, they stop producing the books you love to read.

All I can hope for is that my steamy hot romances melt the insides of any e-reader holding an illegal download.   Avis xx

Thursday, 27 September 2012

Real life fairy tale...


We read romances because we love happy endings and the occasional Cinderella story.  And what could be more fairytale than the Queen's Golden State coach, photographed in the Royal Mews at Buckingham Palace?

If you're in London, it's the must-see place, with all the state coaches on view and some of the Queen's horses too.  And all just around the corner from the Palace.

If you're an Anglophile - and I know there are plenty of you around - why not enjoy a little hot British romance by picking up either Lovers In Law or Love Notes.  Beautiful heroines, gorgeous heroes, iconic locations and wonderful stories.   And, if all that weren't enough, they're currently riding high on the Goodreads Best Dirty Talk list - so they're really steamy!

Photo copyright, Avis Exley


Tuesday, 25 September 2012

It's official - I talk dirty....

...or at least my characters do!

Goodreads has created a Best Dirty Talk Book List for "Good or bad boys that talk dirty."   I'm proud to find that both Lovers In Law and Love Notes are on it (at joint 103rd) and I'm in some pretty hot company.

If anyone's a Goodreads member, and fancies voting, I'd be eternally grateful.   Just click here to be taken straight to the page.

It almost feels like I've been shortlisted for an Emmy and I'd love to make it into the Top 100

Why not leave me a comment and tell me who you think is the best dirty talk author.?

Avis xx


Sunday, 23 September 2012

Blowing my own trumpet

Although I don't normally like to blow my own trumpet, Lovers In Law has up a 5* review on Goodreads that's literally left me reeling.   So good, I'm quoting it here in full:-


Bravo Ms. Exley! I like your style. I'm a lover and reader of novels more along the lines of epic, historical fiction and romance, but Lovers in Law took me by surprise. Sure, I snuck into my Mom's naughty books when I was young, and I've read enough as an adult to know what to expect; but what hooked me here was the quality of the writing which has, in my experience with sexy books, come second to the erotic elements. Let me assure you, Exley neglects neither. True, back in Mom's day, you had to wait a bit longer for the action, and there was often an agonizing degree of tension before the really hot stuff appeared. Not to worry, Lovers lights the flame early on and keeps it burning to the end.
I enjoyed the characters, found them well developed for a non-lengthy novel, and was especially charged by being made privy to the inner workings of the world of British law. As an American with no background or relations in the field, this made for a sweet escape, indeed. And no, it’s not a realm necessarily ruled by sex; these people do actually work as the reader will find. So sit back and enjoy the total package of this particularly hot fantasy duo.  Is it just me, or were there Phantom of the Opera references in the text? I tend to see them in everything. Particularly pleased with the mention of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy, and as one of those over-proud Texan types, was flattered by the British blurb concerning my home state. Oftentimes, it’s the little things that get me.  Quite honestly, I see no reason why Exley shouldn’t become another of the great romance writers and sellers of our time. Granted, when I last checked, current best sellers are still leaning a bit more toward the traditional (yes, like my mother’s) brand of sensuality, but who can deny the recent, and lucrative, attention erotic romance has earned? If this author were writing mainstream, I think she’d be kicking the collective “arses” of the Jodi Picoults of the world. Clearly, she’s got plenty of talent. This is writing for the self, refusing to accept nothing less than your own vision, which I believe to be the most admiral form of writing there is. I look forward to seeing much more. 

Don't know what else to say but "wow" and "thanks".   Avis xx

Saturday, 22 September 2012

Where romantic heroes go to buy clothes!


A stroll along Jermyn St today in the upmarket area of London known as St James's.   This area is home to many gentleman's outfitters, Christies auction house and wine merchants, Berry Bros and Rudd.   You can see Hackett in the background but there's also Turnbull & Asser, Charles Tyrwhitt and Lobb the bootmakers.   This is probably where Radford Byrne, the barrister in Lovers In Law, would shop for clothes and handmade shoes.

I also found a black phone box which looked very stylish in such a well dressed street.   Some years ago, British Telecom sold off some of their traditional red phone boxes to a new communications provider who painted them black.

Friday, 21 September 2012

The party's finally over....


You know how your house feels the day after a fabulous party?   Well that’s how London feels at the moment.   We’ve been partying since the Royal Wedding last year, right through the Jubilee, the Olympics and into the Paralympics.   But, like any good party, it sadly had to end, and all of our lovely friends have gone home now.

The eyes of the world have been upon London for the past fifteen months and we’re so proud of the show we’ve put on.   It’s brought Londoners together, made Britain proud of its heritage, and united sports fans and athletes across the world.   We’ve laughed, cried, often celebrated too hard, and have made lots of new friends.   Let’s hope they come back and see us all again soon.

However, as the dust settles and the city’s heartbeat returns to normal, it’s lovely to have London to ourselves again.   Today’s the day for putting on a warm jumper and taking a walk along the south bank of the Thames from the Millennium Bridge to Westminster.   Here you’ll see old and new London – the Shard and Globe Theatre; the London Eye and Big Ben; the slow moving Thames and fast paced traffic.   Plenty to inspire my next novel set in Britain and my mind’s already brimming over with new characters, scenes, storylines and romance.   I can’t wait to start writing.

Hope to see you there soon.   Avis xx

Thursday, 20 September 2012

New Goodreads Review



As I'm mentioning all the great reviews Love Notes and Lovers In Law are getting, I feel I also ought to tell you when people aren't so pleased by my books.

Love Notes had just had a 2* review on Goodreads. "I'm sorry but this book wasn't for me, though I really enjoyed the first third of it."

Although it wasn't a rave review, I'm still really grateful that someone bought Love Notes, read it and went to the trouble of giving an honest opinion. Often I've disliked books other people have adored and loved some that no one else will read. 

Reading is a matter of taste and it's impossible to argue with a reasoned critique.  If you've read it and want to share your own opinion, join me at my Facebook author page right here.

Happy reading - Avis xx

Friday, 14 September 2012

Who could resist?

Radford Byrne in Lovers In Law has the most seductive blue eyes Allie can’t help falling for.

“I drank in the sight of the deep blue eyes I wanted to float in; the lips that had kissed every inch of me; the heavy-set body that had pinned me to the bed and made me come so often I’d lost count.

After six months in the company of devastatingly-attractive Italian men I thought I’d become immune to tall, dark  and handsome. But Radford wasn’t a man I’d ever build up any resistance to.”
Why not fall in love with Radford too?  Find him on Amazon - currently free to Prime members.  Click this link to go straight there. 
Extract from Lovers In Law by Avis Exley.  Photo credit - unknown



Sunday, 9 September 2012

Free downloads from Amazon

A hot British romance - could you fall in Brit Love too?I've just signed up to Amazon's KDP promotion programme which means they're offering both Love Notes and Lovers In Law for FREE to Prime members.   I'm not sure how long the free offer lasts, so get in there quickly before it closes.

If you do take a free download, I'd be really grateful if you could "pay" me back with a review either on Amazon or my Facebook page

Don't forget, they're 18+ content and all the reviews so far say they're VERY steamy!!

Avis xx
A hot British romance - could you fall in Brit Love too?


Back up and blogging

View of St Paul's dome from the Madison Bar, London
Technical difficulties have caused me to relocate to this slightly different web address and I hope everyone finds me across here.

This week, I've enrolled both Love Notes and Lovers In Law in Amazon's KDP select programme, meaning they will be available to  borrow as well as buy.   Amazon might even promo them as free downloads to Prime members so keep your eyes open.

Today's photo shows the dome of St Paul's Cathedral in the early evening with the rain clouds rolling in.   Radford Byrne, the hero in Lovers in Law, has a penthouse apartment between St Paul's and the River Thames. Right behind St Paul's is the most amazing bar called Madison, with an outdoor terrace on a level with the dome. In the far
 distance, it's possible to see the London Eye and, over your left shoulder is the Shard, the new highest building in Europe.


Here's a link to Madison's website and I'd advise you to watch the video to get the full idea. Keep your eye open for Radford and Allie from Lovers in Law when you're in there!

http://www.madisonlondon.net/   



Friday, 7 September 2012

New blog location

Hi I'm just tweaking my blog which means that details of Love Notes and Lovers In Law are temporarily unavailable.   For more information on these hot new romances from Avis Exley, visit Amazon, iTunes or Smashwords --- I'm the only Avis Exley there

Click here for my Amazon Author Page